# What is the Faculty Council?

Faculty Council plays a vital role in shared governance at The University of Texas at Austin by

- Evaluating, monitoring, and providing recommendations on undergraduate curriculums and degree programs including
  - Educational policies and procedures for developing educational policies
  - Requirements for admission, honors, and degrees
  - Catalog changes requiring approval by UT System and/or the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
- Developing and updating University policies affecting faculty, staff, and students including
  - Faculty evaluation, workload, compensation, academic freedom, and grievances
  - o Student services, activities, admissions, and employment
  - o Budgets, libraries, research, information technology, and other areas

### Who is on the Faculty Council?

- Faculty members with vote (70)
  - Elected by the General Faculty at Large
  - o Elected by individual colleges and schools
- Student members with vote (7)
- Administrative officials ex officio without vote (e.g. the President, Deans, etc.)
- Staff council members without vote (2)

### When Does the Faculty Council Meet?

Typically, the third Monday of each month. The Faculty Council Executive Committee (FCEC) meets monthly on its own and also with the President and her/his administrative team to discuss pending matters of importance to the University and to try to work out any disagreements concerning legislation between the faculty and the administration.

### How Can I Get Involved?

In the spring, calls go out for membership on standing University committees. *Volunteer!* Meetings are open and the agendas published online. *Join us!* Elections happen in the spring. *Nominate yourself!* 

### Where Can I Find More Information?

facultycouncil.utexas.edu

or reach out to Brian Evans (FC Chair 2019-2020) at bevans@ece.utexas.edu or Debbie Roberts and Casey Sloan in the Office of the General Faculty at fc@austin.utexas.edu

### Connect with the 2019-2020 Faculty Council Members Representing YOU

#### **Faculty Council Executive Committee**

Alan Friedman, English, Secretary Brian Evans, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Chair Anthony Brown, Curriculum and Instruction, Chair Elect Charlotte Canning, Theatre and Dance, Past Chair Catherine Weaver, LBJ School of Public Affairs, Chair of the Graduate Assembly Rowena Fong, School of Social Work, Faculty Council Representative Amanda Hager, Mathematics, Faculty Council Representative

**Representing General Faculty Professors and Associate** Professors

John Yancey, Art and Art History, Faculty Council Representative

Marc Bizer, French and Italian James Cox, English Andrea Gore, College of Pharmacy Rasika Harshey, Molecular Biosciences D. Eric Hirst, Accounting Joel Johnson, Jackson School of Geosciences Alberto Martinez, History Marc Musick, Sociology Donna Lynn Rew, School of Nursing Timothy Michael Shanahan, Jackson School of Geosciences

#### **Representing General Faculty Assistant Professors and**

#### **Non-Tenured Faculty**

Betsy Beasley, American Studies Glenn Downing, Computer Science Luisa Gil Fandino, Division of Textiles and Apparel Lauren Gulbas, School of Social Work Amanda Hager, Mathematics Kristin Harvey, Statistics and Data Science Mary Poteet, Geological Sciences **Geoffrey Smith, Religious Studies** Spencer Smith, Communication Sciences and Disorders Gwendolyn Stovall, Texas Institute for Discovery Education in Science

#### **Cockrell School of Engineering**

Stephen Boyles, Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering Lydia Maria Contreras, Chemical Engineering Brian Evans, Electrical and Computer Engineering Lynn Katz, Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering Sarfraz Khurshid, Electrical and Computer Engineering

#### **College of Education**

Anthony Brown, Curriculum and Instruction Thomas Hunt, Kinesiology and Health Education

#### **College of Fine Arts**

Lee Chesney III, Art and Art History Teresa Hubbard, Art and Art History John Yancey, Art and Art History

#### **Moody College of Communication**

David Junker, Advertising and Public Relations Stephen Reese, Journalism

#### **Dell Medical School**

Michael William Lee, Medical Education; Oncology

#### **LBJ School of Public Affairs**

Marty Luby

#### School of Law

Denise Gilman Elissa Steglich

#### **College of Liberal Arts**

Jossianna Arroyo Martinez, Spanish and Portuguese Germine Awad, Middle Eastern Studies Philip Barrish, English Shannon Cavanaugh, Sociology Robert Crosnoe, Sociology Susan Heinzelman, English Ayelet Lushkov, Classics Martha Menchaca, Anthropology Thomas Palaima, Classics Ami Pedahzur, Government Christen Smith, African and African Diaspora Studies; Anthropology Maria Wade, Anthropology Alexandra Wettlaufer, French and Italian

#### College of Natural Sciences

Gail Chovan, Division of Textiles and Apparel Norma Fowler, Integrative Biology Antonio Gonzalez, Molecular Biosciences Cynthia Labrake, Chemistry Natalie Poulos, Nutritional Sciences Stuart Reichler, Discovery Education in Science Lorenzo Sadun, Mathematics Jonathan Sessler, Chemistry

#### College of Pharmacy

Jamie Barner, Pharmacy

#### Jackson School of Geosciences

Christopher Bell, Geological Sciences

#### **McCombs School of Business**

Ethan Burris, Management Carlos Carvalho, Information, Risk, and Operations Management Steven J. Kachelmeier, Accounting Kristie Loescher, Management

#### School of Architecture

Junfeng Jiao

#### School of Information Yan Zhang

#### School of Nursing Karen Johnson

## School of Social Work

Rowena Fong